Antipasto Salad

One of my favorite things to do on the weekend is go to the farmer’s market with my family and a big cup of coffee.  It is a perfect start to Sunday morning and all of the fresh food starts the week off on a healthy kick.  What is better to make with a bunch of fresh veggies than a huge salad?  This antipasto salad was a perfect dinner for me tonight while my husband was in class and I even had enough to pack in my lunch for tomorrow.

You really can’t go wrong with any toppings in this salad.  I literally used as many veggies as I could find in my refrigerator plus some cheeses, meats and a super quick homemade vinaigrette.  Try it out with you favorite things from the farmers market or whatever you have in the house!

Ingredients:

2 cups shredded romaine lettuce

2 cups chopped baby spinach

1 green onion, chopped

2 Tbsp chopped fresh basil

1/4 small red onion, sliced

1 tomato, chopped

2-3 Tbsp banana pepper rings

1/4 cup artichoke hearts, quartered

4-6 slices of salami

2-3 slices of ham

1-2 slices of pepper jack cheese

1-2 slices of Colby jack cheese

 

For the dressing:

1/2 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp parmesan cheese

1 tsp Dijon mustard

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4-1/2 cup red wine vinegar

salt + pepper

In a large bowl, combine the greens and fresh herbs.  Mix well.  Use any greens that you have.  I love adding fresh herbs to any salad because they add so much flavor.

Top with the rest of the veggies, meat and cheese.  Add in any variety of meat and cheese.  I even topped this salad with a little bit of herbed goat cheese I had.  To make things a little bite easier to eat, I like to roll up the meats and cheeses together and make small pinwheels.  That way, I get a little bit of each in each bite.

To make the dressing, combine the garlic, mustard and parmesan cheese.  Add in the olive oil and red wine vinegar. Whisk together to combine.  Pour over the salad.  Toss everything together.

Serve with some garlic bread, pizza or soup for a great meal!

Leave a Reply

