Pesto Tortellini Salad

I am such a sucker for a pasta salad.  I’m not sure why, but it always makes me feel like summer.  Pasta salads are easy to make ahead of time and bring to a party or eat throughout the week.  I brought a double batch of this  to our lake house this weekend to go with lunches and it was gone in one lunch.  I guess they liked it!

I recently wanted to try a new type of noodle in my pasta salad.  Tortellini.  Let me tell you… it was a winner.  It makes for a more filling salad and has the best texture.

As you can tell from some of my recent posts, I have a thing with pesto lately too.  It has really become a staple in my house.  I created this salad mostly to use more pesto but this combo is classic and so tasty.

Ingredients:

2 packages of tortellini – I used cheese filled tortellini, but any flavor would be great

1/2-1 small jar of pesto

1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

1/2 cup fresh mozzarella, diced

Cook the tortellini in boiling water according to the directions on the package.  Drain and let cool.

Once cool, mix in the tomatoes, diced mozzarella and pesto sauce.  Start with 1/2 of the jar and add more according to your taste.  I thought 3/4 of the jar was enough.  Mix well while being careful not to break the pasta apart too much.

If you make it ahead of time, you may want to add extra pesto or a bit of olive oil just before serving.

Try adding in some chicken to make this recipe into a meal!

Leave a Reply

