Jalapeno Popper Wonton Cups

Anytime we order Chinese food, we absolutely have to get an order of potstickers.  My husband just loves them.  I thought I would be a great wife and attempt to make some homemade for him.  I picked up some wonton wrappers at the grocery store and thought I would just whip them up one night after checking out some recipes on Pinterest.

Well, my potsticker plan never actually happened so I had these wonton wrappers in my refrigerator that I wanted to use.  As usual, I used what I had in the refrigerator and created these gems.  Ryan even loves them (maybe) as much as he loves potstickers.  He has only asked me to make them 3 or 4 more times since then.

You can find wonton wrappers in the refrigerator section near produce at most grocery stores.  One package has lasted me a while.

Ingredients:

12 wonton wrappers

1/2 block of cream cheese, softened

1/4 c mayo

1-2 jalapenos

1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese

3 slices of bacon, cooked and chopped or 1/3 c real bacon bits

spray oil

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Spray a  muffin tin with oil.  Tuck a wonton wrapper into each muffin well so they form cups.  Spray the tops of each wonton with oil.  This will help them crisp up in the oven.  Bake for approximately 10 minutes or until the wonton cups are crispy and golden.

While the wontons bake, combine the cream cheese and mayo in a medium bowl.  Chop the jalapenos finely.  Remove the ribs and seeds if you don’t want it too spicy.  I usually leave them in because my family likes spicy food.  Add the jalapenos, bacon and cheese to the mayo mixture.  Mix well.

Add a spoonful of the jalapeno/cream cheese mixture to each crispy wonton cup.  Return to the over for another 5 minutes until the mixture is warm.

Serve topped with a little bit extra jalapeno, bacon or cheese and watch them disappear.

IMG_1933IMG_1967

I also love using this idea but adding different fillings.  Taco cups? Maybe a sweet version with strawberries and balsamic?

 

 

One thought on “Jalapeno Popper Wonton Cups

Leave a Reply

