Roasted Veggie Flatbread

Let’s be honest.  Flatbread is basically just pizza.  It sounds better though.  It sounds healthier.  Well, it does to me.  I don’t feel as badly eating flatbread as I would eating a big old pizza.

I was talking to my husband’s uncle a few weeks ago about different things we cook.  He mentioned flatbread pizzas they make sometimes.  Of course, I had to make my version of them the next week!  I came across Naan at Aldi and thought it would be the perfect base for my flatbreads.

Because I always roast some vegetables for meal prep, I had plenty in the refrigerator along with some pesto and cheese.  How perfect.  To make my husband happy, I threw some meat on his flatbread and less veggies.

Top some flatbread with your favorite sauce, vegetables, meat and cheese for a super simple dinner!  The ingredients are going to be a little bit vague because you really can’t do it wrong!

Ingredients:

2 pieces of Naan or any other kind of flatbread

2 Tbsp pesto sauce

1/2 cup roasted mixed vegetables — I used mushrooms, butternut squash, onion, beets, carrot and tomatoes

fresh mozzarella or any kind of cheese

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Spread one tablespoon of pesto on each piece of Naan in a thin layer.  Top with your roasted mixed veggies.  Add your cheese on top.

To roast the veggies, I peeled and chopped the beets, carrots and butternut squash.  Spread on a foil lined baking sheet for easy clean up.  Spray with olive oil, season and roast at 375 degrees for 20-30 minutes or until they are fork tender flipping the veggies halfway through.  The mushrooms can be sliced and baked for 10 minutes with olive oil and seasonings.

IMG_1956

Place the flatbread directly on the rack in the oven and bake for about 10 minutes until everything is warm.  Put under the broiler for another 3 minutes or so until the cheese is very bubbly and a little bit toasted.  Top with tomatoes for a bit of freshness and crunch.

IMG_1960

Serve with a salad for a perfect weeknight meal!

Leave a Reply

