Chili Mac

One of my favorite ways to cook is to look at different recipes, choose the parts I like from each and combine them into my perfect meal.  I add in different ingredients, use up what I have in the refrigerator or make it a little bit healthier.  That is exactly what I did with this recipe.

My sister was telling me that she was going to make chili mac for her family over the weekend.  That sounded pretty darn good to me.  Because she lives in Iowa (for now) and I couldn’t drop by to steal a bowl, I had to make some for myself.  I looked at a few chili mac recipes on Pinterest and created this gem.

This is a perfect make ahead meal for a weeknight dinner or lunches at work.  My son even loves it.  I am happy to feed it to my family because it is healthy, has lots of veggies and tastes amazing.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground turkey

1 medium onion, chopped

1 tsp minced garlic

1 green pepper, chopped

1 8 oz can of tomato sauce

1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes (I used fire roasted tomatoes for extra flavor)

1 cup chicken broth

1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 can corn

1.5 cup macaroni noodles

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp chili powder

salt + pepper to taste

Heat a large pot or dutch oven on medium.  Add in the ground turkey and cook for about 10 minutes until it is cooked through and broken into pieces.  If there is any extra grease, drain it out.

Add in the garlic, peppers and onions and cook for another 3 minutes until they are slightly soft.  Season with salt, pepper, cumin and chili powder.

Pour in the broth, corn, tomatoes, tomato sauce and beans.  Stir everything together and bring it to a simmer on medium low heat.

Once simmering, add in the pasta noodles and continue cooking on medium low heat for 15 minutes with the lid on until the pasta is cooked.

Serve topped with shredded cheese and enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

