Sweet + Sour Chicken

My family has made homemade egg rolls for as long as I can remember.  I could eat dozens of them.  What do you need to go with egg rolls? Sweet and sour sauce.  That is my favorite part of egg rolls.  I’ve been known to eat it by the spoonful from time to time.

After making egg rolls this weekend, I had some left over sweet and sour sauce that I just couldn’t let go to waste.  I decided to use it up with some of the chicken my husband grilled perfectly for me to eat throughout the week while he is travelling for work.  Served up with some brown rice, this is a perfect make ahead meal for a busy week!  This whole meal can be made with 5 ingredients.  How amazing is that?!

Ingredients:

4 chicken breasts – grilled or baked

2 cups brown rice

For the sauce:

1 jar apricot preserves

6-8 maraschino cherries, diced

1/4 c white vinegar

Start by combining the apricot preserves with the diced cherries and vinegar in a small pot.  Bring the ingredients to a boil then reduce the heat and simmer for about 10 minutes until the preserves have broken down and the sauce is combined and smooth.

Toss the cooked chicken in the sauce and serve over rice to complete the meal.  Adding in some peppers, onions or even pineapple would be delicious too!

This recipe is perfect for when you’re craving Chinese takeout but want something a little bit healthier.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

