Whole Roasted Lemon Chicken

How impressive does a whole roasted chicken look? I think it does.  Funny part is that once you get the packet of guts out of the inside, there really isn’t anything to it.  I typically leave that up to my husband though.  🙂  Whole chickens are not very expensive either.  What else can you ask for?  A great looking, delicious tasting, super easy, inexpensive meal.  I love it.

I used some garlic and lemon to flavor my chicken this time, but use any of your favorite spices.  Lemon is so fresh and classic tasting with chicken.

Try this out one day soon! Such a perfect weekend meal.

Ingredients:

1 5 lb whole chicken

2 tsp minced garlic

1 whole lemon

Salt

Pepper

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Place the chicken in a deep baking dish after making sure to remove the guts (gross, I know) from the cavity of the chicken.  Why do they even include those at the store? I mean, I get some people like it, but my guess is that MOST people think it is so gross.

Add the salt and pepper all over the chicken.  Spread the minced garlic on top as well.  Cut the lemon in half.  One half should be cut in half again and put into the cavity.  The other half should be sliced and laid on top of the chicken.

img_1616

Bake for approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes for a 5 pound chicken.  Use a meat thermometer to make sure the thickest part of the chicken is at least 165 degrees.  I usually just slice into the breast to make sure it isn’t pink anymore – way easier.

img_1617

Serve with vegetables or a salad and you’re all set.  The leftovers, if there are any, are so tasty on a salad or in any other recipe.  If you get really ambitious, try making stock with the bones by simmering them in water with veggies.  I wasn’t that ambitious this time. Maybe next time, right? 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

