Chicken Salad

I’ve had some chicken salad that I’m obsessed with and some that I cannot stand.  Generally, I like the savory rather than sweet options.  I don’t go for the grapes and nuts, but more of the celery, onion and even a little cheese.  A restaurant near my house has the most amazing chicken salad sandwich on a croissant and it has smoked gouda in it.  I mean, it is amazing…

Here is my take on chicken salad as I try to make it a little bit healthier than just a bunch of mayo. I bring it to work for lunch in a wrap with spinach or eat it on some crackers for a snack at home.  Such a great option to keep in the fridge.

Ingredients:

2 cups diced chicken breast

2 Tbsp mayo

1 tsp mustard (any kind, I used spicy)

1/4 of an onion diced

2 stalks of celery, diced

2 Tbsp hot sauce

salt & pepper to taste

Add everything to a bowl and mix it up.  It is really that easy… I wish I could say there was more to it, but there really isn’t.  My tip would be to start with a little bit less mayo and you can always add to it.  There is nothing worse than chicken salad that has too much mayo in it. Yuck.

You can always swap out the ingredients for greek yogurt or add in some nuts or dill or even grapes or raisins.  Make it with whatever you like and have in the house!

img_1601

img_1605img_1608img_1606

 

 

One thought on “Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

