Roasted Brussel Sprouts

When Ryan and I were living in our condo, I distinctly remember him walking in our back door which lead right into our kitchen.  He said how great something smelled.  Of course, I immediately offered him a bite of what I was cooking and he really liked it.  He thought it tasted good and asked what it was.  I laughed to myself and told him it was a Brussel sprout.  Almost before I even got the words out, he replied saying that he didn’t like it.

It’s funny how some people react to Brussel sprouts.  It is usually a distinct love or hate.  I am on the love side.  I like them roasted or shaved into a salad the most.  Here is how I make the Brussel sprouts that made my husband accidently admit he likes them!

Ingredients:

1 lb Brussel sprouts

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp minced garlic

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

salt

pepper

Wash and dry your Brussel sprouts.  Trim off the stems of each and cut in half

.  Some of the leaves may fall off, but that is ok because they will get nice and crispy in the oven.  Spread all of the trimmed Brussel sprouts and leaves on a foil lined baking sheet.  Add olive oil, salt, pepper and parmesan cheese.  Toss everything together well so each Brussel sprout gets coated.

img_1610

Bake at 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes depending on the size of your Brussel sprouts.  They should be nice and crispy but still firm in the center.

img_1611

Serve as a side dish for dinner or make a meal out of these little treats with other roasted vegetables and some hummus. Enjoy!

img_1612

2 thoughts on “Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Leave a Reply

