Southwest Chicken Fajita Pasta

I’d say that at least three times a week, I text my husband while we are both at work and ask what he feels like for dinner.  It is nice to get a little help deciding what to make sometimes.  The majority of those messages get a response asking what we have or letting me know that I can choose.  I guess I can never say he is too picky.

This week, he had a taste for pasta with chicken. Easy enough, right?  I could have just made some noodles, thrown in the chicken I baked over the weekend and used a jar of sauce.  Rather than doing that, I combined that idea with some ingredients I had in the refrigerator and one of my favorite meals… fajitas! I can never get tired of fajitas.

Try out this one pot meal soon when you are craving pasta or fajitas!

Ingredients:

1/2 box of pasta – I used linguine but any kind will work

1 large chicken breast, cooked and shredded

1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes

1/2 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 green pepper, sliced

1 small onion, sliced

1 tsp minced garlic

1 cup spinach

Jalapeno

2 cups chicken broth

1 cup milk

1/4 c light sour cream

1 cup shredded cheese

1 tsp cumin

In a large skillet, heat about a tablespoon of olive oil and add the onion, garlic and green pepper.  Sautee for 2-3 minutes until slightly soft.

img_1553  Add in the chicken, spinach and jalapeno.  Mix together and continue cooking for another couple minutes.

img_1554

Pour in the can on diced tomatoes with the juices, the broth and milk. Mix together and add in your dry pasta.  Don’t worry, the pasta will cook in the liquid in the skillet.   Bring  the liquid to a boil, cover and reduce to a simmer.  Continue simmering for about 20 minutes or until the pasta is cooked. The liquid will thicken up and absorb into the pasta.

Add in the black beans after the pasta is cooked.

img_1555

Turn off the heat, add in the sour cream, cheese and cumin. Mix really well until everything is combine and the cheese is melted.

Serve with fresh cilantro or green onion for a little bit of freshness if you have it!

img_1558img_1559

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

