Bacon, Egg & Cheese Casserole

I always love egg casseroles when other people make them, but I never really made one myself.  Not sure why that is actually.  All of my favorite things are in them! So, when my husband asked for an egg casserole for Christmas, I figured it was the perfect time to start.  I checked out a few recipes online and created my own. It turned out so well!

The holidays are the perfect time for overnight egg casseroles, but who says that is the only time?  I made this casserole for my family to eat on Christmas morning, but it is absolutely going into our usual breakfast rotation.  It would even be a perfect breakfast to prep and eat throughout the week.

Ingredients:

8 eggs

1 cup shredded cheese

12 slices of bacon

6 slices of bread

2 cups milk

You want the bacon to be cooked before you start the casserole.  I like to bake my bacon in the oven.  It is so easy and cooks evenly.  Not to mention, I don’t have to deal with splattering grease. To bake the bacon, line a baking sheet with foil and lay out the slices of bacon evenly.  Put the tray into a cold oven, turn it on to 375 degrees and cook for about 20 minutes or until  the bacon is as crisp as you like.

Chop the cooked bacon and bread into bite sized pieces.  In a large bowl, combine the milk and eggs.  Beat the eggs until they are mixed well.

In a greased baking dish, spread the bread pieces evenly.  Top with the egg and milk mixture.  Sprinkle the shredded cheese and bacon on top.

Cover the casserole with foil and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight is even better.

Bake the dish for 1 hour at 375 degrees uncovered or until the eggs are cooked through. Serve this at your next brunch or for breakfast next weekend!

img_1485img_1490

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

