Pot Roast Noodle Soup

I recently made pot roast because I wanted to end up having this pot roast noodle soup that I remember having at a restaurant we went to as a family when I was growing up.  The pot roast turned out really well and I saved half of it to make this soup.  It is a hearty meal that is perfect for a cool fall day like today.

Start by making Crockpot Pot Roast. From there, here is what you’ll need:

2 cups beef broth

1 Tbsp butter

1 Tbsp flour

1-2 cups cooked egg noodles

Once your pot roast is cooked, let it cool.  Shred the beef into bite sized pieces.  I also chopped some of the vegetables into smaller pieces so they would be easier to eat.

Heat the butter in a small pot until melted.  Add the flour and whisk the butter and flour together until it is smooth.  Pour in the broth and simmer until the broth starts to thicken.  That will probably be about 15 minutes.

Back in the crockpot, add the beef, veggies, thickened beef broth and cooked noodles. Heat everything through.  Taste for seasoning.

IMG_1220.JPG

The restaurant I had this soup at served it in a bread bowl.  Yum.  I don’t have any bread bowls laying around, so I served it with a fresh piece of Italian bread.

img_1229

 

Leave a Reply

