Crockpot Pot Roast

There is a restaurant my family used to go to when I was growing up that serves amazing pot roast noodle soup in a bread bowl.  So good.  When my dad recently mentioned he was going there, I decided to try to make the soup at home. Not having any clue how to make it, I figured the best way to start would be to make pot roast.  Genius, I know.

Here is my pot roast recipe and I will share my pot roast noodle soup adventure soon!

Ingredients:

2.5-3 lb boneless chuck roast

4 medium potatoes

12 baby carrots

2 medium onions

1 medium zucchini (optional)

2 Tbsp Dijon mustard

2 cloves of minced garlic

1 cup beef broth

salt & pepper to taste

img_1209

Start by cutting the potatoes and onions in large chunks.  Slice the zucchini into 1/2 in rounds if you’re adding them.

img_1211

You want to put the harder vegetables on the bottom of the crockpot, so add the potatoes and carrots down first followed by the onions and zucchini.

img_1212

img_1213

Top the vegetables with the chuck roast and put a thin layer of Dijon mustard and garlic on top of the meat.

img_1215

Pour in the broth, cover and set the crockpot to low for 6-8 hours.  The longer you let the pot roast cook, the more tender the meat will be.

After the meat is tender, I like to serve the meat in large shredded pieces.  Make sure each bowl gets a little bit of each vegetable and the meat.  I always add a little bit of the extra broth of the bowls too for flavor.  It is also delicious to dip some bread in the broth too!

img_1223

This is such a cozy meal for a cool fall day.  Stay tuned for how I made the leftovers into pot roast noodle soup! (By leftovers, I mean the half I set aside to make soup before we started eating.  We don’t usually have many leftovers of anything…)

 

One thought on “Crockpot Pot Roast

Leave a Reply

