Veggie & Noodle Stir Fry

When Ryan is out of town for a few days for work, I try to prepare a few meals ahead of time because I know I will be super busy with work and running around with the little man in the evenings. I also know that Ryan doesn’t really love stir fry.  I love it.  That is how I decided to make this recipe for the week.  Of course, I added some noodles to make it a little bit tastier.  You can use whatever vegetables you like or whatever is in your house.  I went ahead and just used what I had in the fridge. Try it for dinner or make a batch for lunches throughout the week!  Here is what I used:

1 medium zucchini

1/2 medium or 1 small red onion

2 large carrots

1 8oz package of white mushrooms

1/4 box of long pasta – I used whole grain spaghetti

1 clove of minced garlic

1/2-3/4 cup Homemade or store bought stir fry sauce

Boil a pot of water to cook the pasta.  Cook the pasta according to the box minus 1-2 minutes because the pasta will keep cooking with the veggies.  Once it is cooked, drain the pasta and set aside.

While the pasta cooks, cut the zucchini in half, then quarters, lengthwise.  Chop the onion.  Peel and chop the carrots.  Slice the mushrooms.

In a large skillet, heat a small amount of olive oil with the garlic for about a minute.  You don’t want the garlic to burn, just soften slightly.  Add the carrots first.  Cook for 2-3 minutes.  (The idea here is to add the harder veggies first so the softer ones don’t get too mushy.)  Then add the mushrooms and onion.  Cook for another couple of minutes.  Finally, add the zucchini and cook for only 1-2 minutes.  There is nothing worse than mushy zucchini in my opinion.

Once all of the vegetables are cooked to your liking, add in the pasta and stir fry sauce.  Toss everything together to make sure the sauce it coating everything.

That’s it! You will have a delicious dinner or a few lunches ready to go.

Other vegetables I like to add in recipes like this are bell peppers, yellow squash, broccoli and celery, but anything would work.  I really like adding frozen edamame if I have it in the freezer too.

img_1194-2

img_1190-2

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

